hiatus

I took some time off over the Easter vacation, and one of the things I decided was that I need to take a break from writing. It’s like I’ve only just had time to notice how burned out I am from finishing Now and Rome and then going straight into a very heavy teaching year (I’d been expecting a year’s research leave this year and pacing myself accordingly), plus quite a lot of life stuff that I don’t talk about in this space.

Another reason why I’ve realized that I need to do this that is that in the last six weeks, two of the greatest writers of this century, writers whose work has been immensely important to me as a human being, have died – Diana Wynne Jones and Joanna Russ. And I can’t pull together enough word-wrangling ability to say anything about them at all, beyond: go and read Jones’s Charmed Life (and, if you’ve read the Harry Potter books, Witch Week – I keep thinking about it and chuckling about how the only possible HP/Chrestomanci crossover is the one where he shows up at Hogwarts and closes it down for being a hideously dangerous and abusive environment), and Russ’s The Female Man and The Two Of Us.

Anyway. I have a couple of book reviews that I’m committed to do, but otherwise, no writing for me, including blog posts. See you all in July. Have fun without me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

